“Sprouted Bean Trio” salad

My sister sent me a bag of Tru Roots “Sprouted Bean Trio” that I was excited to try after her rave reviews.  She says she gets it in 3 lb bags at Costco for less than $10. The Sprouted Bean Trio is a quick-cooking mixture of sprouted lentil, adzuki and mung beans. I’m a big fan of ready-to-eat cold dishes, so I made a basic salad, along the lines of tabouli. The result was delicious, with the sprouted beans having a nice light texture. One cooked cup has 11g protein and a whopping 11g fiber. The package claims that the sprouted beans “boosts the nutritional profile” and makes them more digestible. I cooked 1 cup of the mixture in 3 cups of water, as instructed, but had to drain some off. I ended up with perhaps 3-1/2 cups of cooked product. The millet cooked up to about 3 cups. This recipe made close to 8 cups; that was enough for about 5 generous servings that I augmented with some additional vegetables and/or protein to make a meal. It would go further as a side dish. Any grain would work here; I used millet because I was following one of my Five Minute Foodie organizing tips: use what you have.

Sprouted Bean Trio Salad

  • 1 cup (dry) Sprouted Bean Trio, cooked
  • 2/3 cup (dry) millet, cooked
  • 1/3 bunch chopped parsley
  • 1/3 bunch chopped scallions
  • 1 large carrot, diced
  • 2 TB EVOO
  • Juice of half a lemon
  • Salt to taste

Cook the Sprouted Bean Trio and Millet according to directions. Combine bean, grain and vegetable ingredients. Whisk olive oil, lemon and salt together and toss. Enjoy this yummy salad on its own or with additions of crumbled feta or goat cheese, chopped egg or sliced veggies.

Dietary notes: a healthy dose of protein and fiber; ♥ Vegan. Sub quinoa for the millet to make it ♥ Gluten Free.

Cost: less than $4 for the batch, or $ .50 – $1 per serving, depending on how much you use. And that’s with organic ingredients!

2 thoughts on ““Sprouted Bean Trio” salad

  1. I like what you are doing here. So I’m hesitant to give you unsolicited constructive criticism. But I can’t help myself. It’s a compulsion.

    Egg.
    Hard boiled egg.
    It’s overcooked.

    I can tell by just looking at that gray-green layer around the yolk. Now, that’s not to say you shouldn’t eat it. You buy expensive eggs, and I’m morally opposed to waste. But it might not be something I would choose to take a picture of and post on the Internet.

    But healthy, tasty, organic food for $1 a serving? You should be commended. Keep up the good work. And if you need any help with your egg cookery, just let me know. Those local eggs start out gorgeous. It’s our responsibility to honor the hard work of the farmers and the sacrifice of the chickens by treating those eggs to the best fate possible.

    Cheers.

    • Hi Daniel – Thanks for stopping by and the liking the blog! You are correct, my hard boiled eggs are probably a tad overcooked, although I’m told that green tint also comes from allowing the eggs to cool too slowly, which is why some folks add a shot of cold water and/or drain them immediately. I admit I often do neither. Alas, I’m a bit less than precise and more concerned with production than perfection. If I waited for perfect eggs, I’d probably never get a shot for the blog! In fact, I’m probably the antithesis of most food bloggers; I served lovely, pricey food working FOH in restaurants for years, but imperfect home-cooked food fits what I’m trying to convey here: that cooking should be simple, fast and unfussy (no pun intended). That there are few mistakes that can’t be worked in (unless you’re baking, of course, which is why I don’t!) So, no exact recipes or perfect pictures here – and plenty of sloppy, but fast and effective, technique. I think the food lover in me is okay with that; after all, even Julia laughed off her mistakes in the kitchen. But, yes, I will definitely take your egg cooking tips! I usually cook a dozen at a time and haven’t found my optimal timing. And I just hate undercooked boiled eggs so I tend to overcompensate. Then there’s the question of adding them to cold or boiling water? So many schools of thought on that one! Anyway, thanks for stopping by and for taking the time to comment. ~Jennifer (aka Cookbook Maven & The Five Minute Foodie)

Leave a Reply

